The best mushroom tincture is the one whose label tells you which mushrooms went in, how the extract was made, and how much of each mushroom you get. A tincture is a concentrated liquid made by extracting mushrooms in alcohol, water or both. Below you’ll find how to judge a label, how to take and store one, what sellers say it is for, what the research can and cannot tell you, and what Pilly Labs’ drops and gummies cost and how their refunds work.
Disclosure: To be upfront, this site is under common ownership with Pilly Labs. We mention it so you can factor it in.
What is a mushroom tincture, and what is it used for?
Marrowstone Mushrooms describes mushroom tinctures as “concentrated liquids filled with the active ingredients in various mushrooms.” Zombie Mushrooms’ guide says they are made through an extraction process using alcohol, water, or both. Sellers name the following uses for the most common mushrooms. These are the sellers’ and guides’ claims, not findings about any particular bottle.
| Mushroom | Latin name | Uses Zombie Mushrooms’ guide lists |
|---|---|---|
| Reishi | Ganoderma lucidum | Stress relief, relaxation, sleep support |
| Lion’s Mane | Hericium erinaceus | Cognitive enhancement, nerve regeneration |
| Cordyceps | Cordyceps militaris or Cordyceps sinensis | Physical energy, endurance |
| Chaga | Inonotus obliquus | Antioxidants, immune system modulation |
| Turkey Tail | Trametes versicolor | Gut health, immune balancing |
Marrowstone Mushrooms notes that many customers use Lion’s Mane “for its traditional uses, such as improving cognition and gut health.”
Do mushroom tinctures work?
The honest answer is that the research is on mushrooms and their extracts, and studies of tinctures in people are thin. Metromush’s guide says a key review found the strongest evidence comes from medicinal mushroom research more broadly, not from tincture-specific human trials. Marrowstone Mushrooms says most research available has been limited to animal or cell studies, along with the occasional small human study, and that “more research is necessary before we can say anything for sure.”
For the science behind the mushrooms, start with the 2011 review “Current findings, future trends, and unsolved problems in studies of medicinal mushrooms” by S. P. Wasser, published in Applied Microbiology and Biotechnology (2011 medicinal mushroom review). Friedman’s 2016 review of Lion’s Mane chemistry, nutrition and health-promoting properties, in the Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry, covers the compounds in that mushroom (Lion’s Mane chemistry review). Our research library summarizes human studies on Lion’s Mane mushroom benefits and on Reishi human studies.
Pilly Labs makes the same point about its own blend. Its 10-Mushroom Gummies page says research on an isolated mushroom cannot predict the result of an undisclosed multi-species blend.
Which mushroom is best for anxiety and depression?
The guides do not agree on one best mushroom for either. Zombie Mushrooms’ guide says Lion’s Mane “may help thinking and reduce signs of anxiety and depression,” citing a 2010 study by Nagano et al. Metromush’s guide describes Reishi as commonly chosen for stress support or evening routines, and Pilly’s Reishi Calm Drops page says reishi extract “is traditionally used to support relaxation and overall wellness.” Reishi is the mushroom these guides tie to calm and evening routines, and you can read more in our reishi mushroom guide and this comparison of best mushroom for sleep options.
If anxiety or depression is what you are dealing with, a clinician is the right first call. Pilly’s pages say their products “are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.”
What is the best mushroom tincture for me?
“Best” here means the best match by the criteria below, not a ranking of quality. Boxed-In Mushroom Company’s guide lists what to look for in a quality tincture: fruiting body extracts only, a stated extraction ratio such as 1:4 or 1:5, a clearly stated dual-extraction process, an organic or non-GMO alcohol source, and third-party testing or a certificate of analysis. Add two checks of your own: the amount of each mushroom, not just a blend total, and refund terms you can read before paying.
Readwell Media, which owns this site, also owns Pilly Labs.
| Option | What the label or page shows | Extraction, as stated | Price and terms |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pilly Reishi Calm Drops | 150 mg reishi extract, plus a 50 mg complex of five named mushrooms with no individual amounts | Glycerin, purified water, natural flavoring, stevia, potassium sorbate, nisin | $47.99 shown; 30-day return window |
| Pilly Adaptogen Immunity Drops | 150 mg complex of five named mushrooms (individual amounts not disclosed) plus 50 mg Cordyceps | Other ingredients include glycerin and purified water | $47.99 shown; 30-day satisfaction guarantee |
| Pilly 10-Mushroom Gummies | 250 mg blend of ten named species per two-gummy serving; individual amounts not disclosed | Each species is listed as a 10:1 fruiting body extract; this is a gummy, not a liquid | $47.99 for 30 servings; 30-day return policy |
| Boxed-In Mushroom Company tincture | Five mushrooms, each dual-extracted individually before blending, per the company’s page | Dual-extracted individually; eight-week steep in sugar-cane alcohol, per the company | Check the price directly with the company |
| Marrowstone Mushrooms tincture | 100% mushroom fruiting bodies, per the company; a 2 oz bottle “contains nearly a pound of lion’s mane,” a claim the company makes | Water and grain alcohol | Pickup or delivery; check the price with the seller |
| Mushroom Mountain extracts | Described as organic, adaptogenic, triple-filtered extracts made at Mushroom Mountain | Ask the seller which extraction solvent it uses | Buy four 20Z extracts and save $5.00 on each; four 80Z extracts save $10.00 on each |
| Making your own | Whatever you put in | Alcohol and water, 4–6 weeks per Zombie Mushrooms’ guide | Supplies; Zombie notes you cannot know potency without lab tests |
If you want a chewable format instead of drops, the label of 10-Mushroom Gummies names ten species in a 250 mg blend, and the page says each individual mushroom’s amount is not disclosed. If you want one disclosed amount, Reishi Calm Drops lists 150 mg of reishi extract on its own line, separate from the 50 mg five-mushroom complex.
Turkey tail is a different case. Zombie Mushrooms’ guide says turkey tail is often used in adjunct cancer therapies. That use does not describe a wellness bottle.
How do I take mushroom tincture?
Zombie Mushrooms’ guide says putting the tincture under your tongue helps it soak in faster, or you can add it to warm drinks like tea or coffee, “not too hot.” Boxed-In Mushroom Company advises against adding tinctures to boiling liquids and suggests cold tea, smoothies or a glass of water. Both start with a small dose.
| Source | Directions it gives |
|---|---|
| Zombie Mushrooms’ guide | 1–2 dropperfuls (about 1–2 mL), one or two times a day; start with one dropper and see how you feel |
| Boxed-In Mushroom Company | 1–2 droppers daily, under the tongue or in a cool beverage |
| Pilly Adaptogen Immunity Drops | One dropper (1 mL) per serving, 30 servings per container; shake well and follow the current one-dropper directions |
| Pilly 10-Mushroom Gummies | Serving size is 2 gummies, 30 servings per container; follow the current bottle directions. |
How long does mushroom tincture last?
Zombie Mushrooms’ guide says that, if made right, tinctures can last 12–18 months or more, and that they should be kept in a cool, dark place. Its guide suggests amber or cobalt glass because it blocks UV light. For a bottle you buy, check the printed date on the label and ask the seller for the expiry date before you order.
Mushroom tincture side effects, and who should avoid them
Why do I feel weird after taking Lion’s Mane?
Metromush’s guide says some people experience digestive upset, or dislike the taste of alcohol-based extracts. Zombie Mushrooms’ guide advises starting with one dropper and watching how you feel. If a feeling does not settle, talk to a pharmacist or clinician.
Is Lion’s Mane like Adderall?
Lion’s Mane is a mushroom, and Adderall is a medication. The Pilly Labs page for 10-Mushroom Gummies does not compare any of its mushrooms with a medication. If you take Adderall, ask your prescriber or pharmacist before you add any mushroom product.
Who should avoid Lion’s Mane?
Pilly’s 10-Mushroom Gummies, which include Lion’s Mane, name these groups:
| Who | What the Pilly Labs page says | Page |
|---|---|---|
| Anyone with a mushroom allergy | Should not use the product | Adaptogen Immunity Drops page |
| Anyone pregnant, nursing, under 18, or living with a medical condition | Ask a healthcare professional first | 10-Mushroom Gummies page |
| Anyone taking blood-thinning, anticoagulant or blood-sugar medication | Ask a healthcare professional first | 10-Mushroom Gummies page |
| Anyone with kidney stones or an oxalate-related condition | Chaga contains oxalates; ask a healthcare professional first | 10-Mushroom Gummies page |
What benefits do sellers claim for mushroom tinctures?
Pilly Labs states that each mushroom “contains different polysaccharide profiles that research suggests may support various aspects of immune function.” Boxed-In Mushroom Company says users typically report better mental clarity, steadier energy, improved sleep and a greater sense of resilience over several weeks. Those are the sellers’ words. The research above is where to check them.
Can I make mushroom tincture at home?
Zombie Mushrooms’ guide describes a home method. You need dried mushrooms, 80–100 proof alcohol, filtered water, mason jars, a fine strainer or cheesecloth, amber glass dropper bottles and labels. In outline:
- Steep the mushrooms in alcohol for 4–6 weeks in a sterilized jar, shaking gently every few days.
- Strain the alcohol extract and keep the mushroom solids.
- Simmer the same solids in hot water, not boiling, for 2–3 hours.
- Combine the two extracts, often 1:1, with at least 25% alcohol in the final mix.
- Bottle in amber glass, label clearly and store in a cool, dark place.
The guide’s common ratio is 1 gram of dried mushrooms to 5 mL of liquid. It also warns that you cannot know how strong the result is without lab tests. Making your own means sourcing, measuring and waiting weeks for every batch. A finished bottle with a printed label is the done-for-you version. Zombie’s guide itself suggests buying a pre-made tincture if you need the same dose every time.
What does mushroom tincture cost, and how do refunds work?
Pilly’s product pages show these prices as of October 1, 2026; the Immunity Drops page dates its price to September 17, 2026. Check the checkout for today’s price.
| Product | Price shown | Shipping | Refund term | Subscription |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10-Mushroom Gummies, 30 servings | $47.99 one-time | $6.90 U.S., free when your order reaches $99 | 30 days after receiving your item to request a return; contact info@pillylabs.com | None; one-time purchase |
| Adaptogen Immunity Drops, 30 servings | $47.99 regular price | $6.90 standard, free over $99; processing 1–5 business days, delivery 2–4 business days via USPS | 30-day satisfaction guarantee; refund to original payment; one refund per product per customer | Ask the seller whether a subscription is offered before ordering |
| Reishi Calm Drops, 30 servings | $47.99 USD | $6.90, or free when your order reaches $99 | 30-day return window; request a return after delivery; see the refund policy | Subscribe and save option, cancel anytime; multi-packs temporarily unavailable |
Pilly Labs’ Mushroom Energy & Cognition Drops and Premium Mushroom Coffee are also sold; the brands Mushroom Mountain, Marrowstone Mushrooms and Pilly Labs all sell mushroom products, and Pilly Labs sells a mushroom coffee (Vitality Mushroom Coffee) and cordyceps energy gummies, with ingredient amounts listed on its labels.
Is Pilly Labs legit, and can I trust the seller?
Pilly’s FDA disclaimer page says its products are dietary supplements under the Dietary Supplement Health and Education Act of 1994, and that statements on its products “have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.” The company’s footer lists Pilly Labs LLC and info@pillylabs.com. The 10-Mushroom Gummies page does not publicly disclose the manufacturer or the country of manufacture, so ask for both before you order.
Your shelf checklist
- Read the species list and the extraction method on the label before you buy.
- Check whether each mushroom has its own amount; the Pilly blends above do not list individual amounts.
- Ask the seller for the extraction solvent, the manufacturer and the country of manufacture.
- Confirm today’s price, shipping and subscription choice at checkout.
- Save your order confirmation and note your return window; send return questions to info@pillylabs.com.
- Check the printed date, and do not use a bottle whose safety seal is damaged or missing.
- If you take blood thinners or blood-sugar medication, or are pregnant or nursing, ask a clinician before use.
- Store the bottle in a cool, dark place, out of reach of children.
By MountainSageNaturalHealth.com Editorial Team
This article is for general information purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. Consult your doctor or qualified healthcare provider before making changes to your health routine.